The North East Scotland Cricket SCIO held its first Awards Dinner since 2019 at Shell Woodbank this past weekend. Over 110 attended, enjoying some delicious food, catching up with fellow cricketers, listening to an inspirational presentation from the charity Cricket Builds Hope, and taking in a few words from Scotland international Michael Leask, before Michael went on to present the array of trophies. 

NESC Chair Brian Lynas welcomed the guests and attendees, and Master of Ceremonies Ronnie Falconer kept the evening ticking over. Thanks are due to Lisa Watson for her assistance with the auction and raffle, and to those who donated to the raffle and bought the auction items. The awards were fittingly rounded off with a prolonged standing ovation when Jeanette Forbes presented the Alan Forbes Memorial Trophy to former Grades treasurer Ian Stephen. David Jones then handed over a collection to Ian Stephen that had been raised by the clubs and individuals in recognition of his long service to cricket in the North East.

The award winners were – 

Grade 1 – Knight Riders 

Grade 2 – Grampian 

Grade 3 – Methlick 

Aberdeenshire Cup – Bon Accord and MoM to Fazal Awan (Bon Accord) 

Bon Accord Cup – Grampian and MoM to Josino Aluvathingal (Grampian) 

Reid Cup – 2nd Siyapa and MoM to Lloyd Belton (Crathie) 

Grade 1 Fair Play – Inverurie 

Grade 2 Fair Play – Fraserburgh 

Grade 3 Fair Play – 2nd Siyapa 

Grade 1 Batting – Fazal Awan (Bon Accord) 

Grade 1 Bowling – Vijay Vijapur (Knight Riders) 

Grade 2 Batting – Jeby George (Grampian) 

Grade 2 Bowling – Arfan Ali (Siyapa) 

Grade 3 Batting – Adam Veersema (Methlick) 

Grade 3 Bowling – Tim Duffy (Methlick) 

Wicketkeeping Trophy – Pehlaj Tenneti (Knight Riders) 

NESC Umpire of the Year – Steve Murphy 

Grades Junior Batting – Tanish Kirodian (Gordonians) 

Grades Junior Bowling – Aarush Sharma (Mannofield) 

Jack Nixon Player of the Year – Fazal Awan (Bon Accord) 

Jack Nixon Junior Player of the Year – Abhilash Vitthala (Gordonians) 

Alan Forbes Memorial Trophy – Ian Stephen